IEE: Eucharistio

We present a new edition of Ideological Education Essentials! (Otherwise known as 'Science' Education Essentials)

This week’s Science Education Essentials series is, as usual, neither science nor educational, but it’s also not very interesting. Once again, it’s all about Thanksgiving, or more precisely giving thanks. Now, according to Dr Forlow:

Eucharistio is a Greek verb used to mean to thank, to give thanks, to be thankful, to be grateful.Colossians 3:17 says, “And whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.” Likewise, 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 states “Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” I’m not sure about you, but I am quick to give God thanks for giving me a place to live, food to eat, clothes to wear, and family who love me. However, I also find myself NOT giving thanks very quickly for those life circumstances that seem more….challenging.

To nitpick – that’s all there is to do this week, really – my source tells me that the common transliteration is in fact eucharisteo. Anyway…

This past spring, I read a challenge from a popular Christian women’s author. In her book, she challenged me (and her other readers) to develop a daily discipline of capturing small moments and listing them and giving thanks. Starting with the smallest of details like birds chirping, this exercise was meant to allow God to work through me to develop an attitude of thankfulness and grace in order to help me develop the same thankful attitude toward bigger, sometimes more painful life circumstances.

Ann Voskamp – the “popular Christian women’s author” – also spells it with an e, so there you go. I wonder if Forlow is getting a commision on this? I guess not, or she would have used a wording that isn’t as reminiscent of Conservapedia’s User:Conservative and would have actually said the name.

At the end of the post she asks the following:

How do you model the attitude of eucharistio to your students?

Nobody has yet answered.

This week, all the activities are on the same K-12 page. Things she wants you to do include:

  • Make a “gratitude goal”
  • Do some complicated activity that ends in the students telling the person to their left “1 attribute of that person that [they] are thankful for.”
  • Keep a “Creation Gratitude Jar” in the classroom.
  • Adopt a child through a national organisation.
  • Research how many homeless adults and children live in your town or city. Make and deliver individual lunches for a local homeless shelter.

These are, for the most part, noble aims – though they aren’t all that interesting. There are no comments on this post either.

The Discussion Starters are as follows:

Classroom Starters:

How can we give thanks every day?

For older students: What do we take for granted that we might express thanks for every day? How can we make an impact on those around us by expressing thanks?

Dinner Table Starters:

Who has treated you with kindness lately and how would you like to thank that person?

For older students: What attributes do others in our family have that you are thankful for, and why?

And that’s it. Again, noble goals, but there’s no real creationism/science here so there’s nothing for me to say.

The whole “who does an atheist give thanks to on Thanksgiving” thing has been done to death already in my opinion, and considering that I’m not American I’m hardly going to go over it myself, hence the short length of this post. The only thing left to cover is the comments on this post…except there are none here either. (There wouldn’t be – it’s only 2 hours old at time of writing and it’s currently after midnight immediately post a public holiday in the US of A.)


In fact the only comments to appear this week – Dr Forlow has finally managed to solve her spam/dissenting opinions problem – are on old posts.

“Tammy” writes on the What’s in a Number post:

This particular day was very timely. I am homeschooling my boys (10 & 12) with a public school curriculum. My older son is studying the age of the earth and your blog helped me give him another scientific perspective! Also, your video format is perfect in for keeping my boys’ attention! Thank you so much!

Another. Scientific. Perspective. Perfect for keeping my boys’ attention. Honestly?

Anyway, “Steve Straub” writes on the One Human Race Discussion Starters page:

I read that genetically a white person can be genetically more similar to an Northeast African person, than that African is to an East or South African.

Now there’s a discussion I want to see. But considering the commenting rules on the site I doubt we will. I’m actually surprised the comment even made it on to the blog…

Thoughts?

